UK Connexion Logo

The UK CONNEXION

Event Reviews

Dinner/Euchre – Monk’s Kettle
Wed, Feb 8, 2017
Euchre Click on image for Slideshow
Ten UKC members (8 ladies and 2 gentlemen) enjoyed an evening of Euchre, craft beer, and delicious pub fare at the Monk's Kettle - the destination for craft beer & exceptional gastro pub fare in Etobicoke. As last month, the competition was very challenging and exciting as only experienced Euchre players participated.

Thanks to D. from Scarborough and F. from Etobicoke for valiantly keeping up the male presence.
Fred M

"15/15" DINNER/MINGLING ELEPHANT & CASTLE
Sun, Feb 5, 2017
Although it was a cold evening and the Superbowl was on, we had a group of nine at the Elephant & Castle on Sunday. It was good to see Bob C out again after his stay in the hospital in December. The pub was humming and our group cozied up with two tables and enjoyed great conversation, a few drinks and comforting 'pub' food. We had a new server, Michelle, who was very attentive to all our needs.

If you are ever at a loose end on the first Sunday of the month, come along and join us!
Christine Q

WINTER HIKE AT PALGRAVE
Sun, Feb 5, 2017
Winter Hike Palgrave Click on image for Slideshow
Seven UKC members participated in the hike; 2 ladies and 5 gentlemen. A few more ladies would have been welcome. But, we still had fun.

We joined our sponsors and expert hike leaders - Arnold and Mary - to enjoy the fresh country air and scenic views on a 2-hour hike in the Palgrave Forest & Wildlife Area. The Palgrave Trail is varied with some steep elevations. Overall, the terrain comprises beautiful rolling hills with thick forest – mostly white pine and red pine. Isolated icy patches hidden by 2 inches of freshly fallen snow made for potentially treacherous conditions underfoot. Most members wore ice grippers which greatly reduced the possibility of slipping. The ice grippers are worn over regular hiking boots. They are available at Lee Valley and Mountain Equipment Co-op.

After the hike, we enjoyed lunch at The Toby Jug: Bolton’s Original British Pub in the Bolton Country Plaza. Thank you Arnold and Mary for a job well done! Your efforts were greatly appreciated by everyone.
Fred M

Village Players Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2017
Village Players Click on image for Slideshow
On a cold winter Sunday ten of us met in the lobby of The Village Players to see the comedy 'Cakewalk'. Our thoughtful host Mary had arrived early and was able to save seats so we could all sit together as there are no reservations at this small but cozy theater. The play was hilarious and I believe we all had a good laugh.

Afterwards we walked a couple of blocks to The Bread and Roses Bakery Cafe which has a wonderful assortment of freshly baked pastries and decadent desserts, but also a couple of homemade soups and savory offerings.
Marilyn G

Seven44 Live Band Swing/Jazz and Dancing
Sat, Jan 28, 2017
Seven44 2017 Click on image for Slideshow
Nine UKC members really enjoyed this popular event at Seven44. Our lovely host Marilyn always makes everyone feel welcome and we all enjoyed good conversation and lots of laughs. The York Jazz Ensemble, a 9-piece band, have been playing together for 17 years. They play a wide range of music (swing, jazz, blues and rock and roll). We had a great time dancing to their music.

There is a good selection of drinks, pub food, pizza and healthy salads.
Mary J

Pot Luck Supper & Scrabble
Sat, Jan 21, 2017
Scrabble Click on image for Slideshow
We had a wonderful evening on January 21st enjoying each other's company while feasting on the best crudités from Robin, Meg's pad Thai and Marion's salad amongst other great dishes. Jean's trifle and Anice's brownies were delicious, but Christine's Bakewell tart was so beautiful it was a shame to cut in to it – but worth it and all the calories consumed in the evening! The pièce-de-résistance was Ann regaling us with her escapades during her south-west US van trip: what a remarkable & gutsy adventurer she is! Once we got down to playing Scrabble one could hear a pin drop, although the brain-gears were definitely in motion! Jean emerged the winner and in each game we all benefited from expanding our own vocabulary.

This is a delightful way to spend an evening with like-minded friends, both seasoned and new, and sharing a meal together.
Jackie

Mingling & Dinner at The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun Jan 22, 2017
Scrabble Click on image for Slideshow
We had another fun-filled evening at The Old Spaghetti Factory on January 22nd; first event there for 2017. Well attended by thirteen UK Connexion members, almost evened out with seven ladies and six gentlemen. Lots of active conversation, about movies, gliders, holidays – and a little bit about Trump but not too much!! The weather was good, no snow or ice so getting to this colourful and interesting restaurant was no problem.

Great socializing with everybody – make sure you attend Chris's next event there on February 24th! Not to be missed!
Rennie

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Jan 15, 2017
Click on image for Slideshow
On January 15th, seventeen members and newcomers enjoyed our monthly Dinner/Mingling event at the Squire Pub on Bloor Street West at Islington. This is a popular event where newcomers are always made very welcome. In fact, on Sunday, we welcomed Karen and Elaine, who promised to come again and meet up with all the new friends they made. Ian was our new host this evening, replacing Maz who has been our host for many years. Thank you, Maz, for always being there and doing such an excellent job. We hope we will see you again when the weather gets warmer and you can make the long drive you have always willingly made.

This pub is very accessible by subway or car and it's on street level without steps to get access which suits me as I too don’t like to clamber up and down steps to get into a pub. We are steps away from the Islington subway and there is ample parking either on the street or underground for $5 in the Sunlife building opposite. We arrive at 6pm, mingle and enjoy the free snack platters, and then sit down to very good pub food, lively conversation and cheerful service. Come and enjoy a very pleasant evening. You are guaranteed to meet some very interesting people.
Marjory S.

Dinner/Euchre Monk's Kettle
Tue, Jan 3, 2017
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
Eleven hardy and intrepid UKC members (8 ladies and 3 gentlemen) braved the wet blustery weather and rain-soaked streets to enjoy an evening of Euchre at the Monk’s Kettle – the destination for craft beer and exceptional gastro pub fare in Etobicoke.

The competition was very challenging and exciting as only experienced Euchre players participated this time.
Fred M.

New Year's Eve Dinner/Dance
Sat, Dec 31, 2016
New Years Click on image for Slideshow
Twenty-two UKC members (12 ladies and 10 gentlemen) joined a large crowd from the Singles Professional Network to enjoy a delicious dinner and dancing at the beautiful Grand Luxe Ballroom located on Bayview Avenue just south of Finch Avenue. DJ George Andrew’s repertoire of the newest tracks and crowd favourites kept the room rocking non-stop until the wee hours of the New Year. Champagne and dessert were served at midnight.

Many thanks to Lin and Ion for sponsoring this opportunity.
Fred M.

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Dec 18, 2016
Squire Click on image for Slideshow
Mingling/Indian Buffet Adventure
Sun, Dec 11, 2016
Indian Cuisine Click on image for Slideshow
We met at the Pump House Grille for a drink then walked over to the Indian Cuisine on the Lake in Port Credit for a delicious buffet lunch. There we warmly welcomed Lynn attending her first UKC event after hearing about us 16 years ago! Even though it started to snow heavily, several of us decided to go for a short walk beside the Credit River. On our way, we observed a lost dog desperately eating what looked like grass and leaves. Candy and I went to buy him some dog food while John calmed him down enough to determine his identity by reading his tags without being bitten in the process! His name is SHADOW and he is a beautiful Black Lab mix who has quite the personality.

A lady and her daughter also came to his rescue and Animal Services was called. It was very cold and the storm was getting worse so off he trotted to their home awaiting pick-up with the huge rawhide bone they gave him in his mouth like a very proud boy. We followed-up with Animal Services where Shadow was very content snuggled up in his big puffy cushion at the shelter. Thanks to the team effort, Shadow was reunited with his owner three days later. This is the best early Christmas gift for both of them!!
Mary J

Dinner/Euchre at the Monk's Kettle
Wed, Nov 30, 2016
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
Sixteen UKC members (12 ladies and 4 gentlemen) enjoyed a great evening of Euchre at the Monk’s Kettle. It was great to see all four of our reserved tables filled to capacity with four players at each table.

This small friendly pub, with a quaint and welcoming atmosphere, is reputed to have the best craft beer selection in Etobicoke. The pub offered a very good selection of delicious food – locally sourced and cooked fresh.

Thanks to our sponsors, Dorothy and Joan, for their usual stellar job in organizing the UKC Euchre Events as well as the UKC Golf Tournaments.
Fred M

Play at Village Players Theatre
Sun, Nov 20, 2016
Feedback from all 8 ladies including myself as the host who attended A Party to Murder play was extremely positive. Who Done It... too many twists and turns to the very end, none of us could figure it out! The actors are all very professional considering the price we paid for the play (Seniors $20/Adults $24). We were happy to have three non-members attend their first event. Two of the ladies have already signed up as members. Welcome ladies!

After the play, we all went to the Bread and Roses Bakery Cafe for tea/coffee, danishes, salads or quiche while discussing the play and getting to know others we had not met before. An excellent time was had by all. Three of us then continued on to another UKC event a short distance away at the Squire Pub Restaurant.
Mary J

Terra Cotta Hike
Sun, Nov 13, 2016
Terra Cotta Hike Click on image for Slideshow
What an absolutely lovely day we had, just perfect for a hike!!  We were a group of eight plus two canine girls. Imagine being accompanied by two Black Russian Terriers!  What a bonus that was, thanks to John. Fred, our entertainer, performed several juggling acts to the delight of everyone at the rest stop. Never a dull moment! We wound up the day for lunch at the Terra Cotta Pub and enjoyed good food and good company.

Thank you to Mary and Arnold for arranging a delightful excursion.
Linda T

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Sun, Nov 6, 2016
UK Connexion members enjoyed a fun evening at the Elephant and Castle on November 6th. The good weather brought out a nice mixture of ladies and gentlemen "mingling" and talking about various topics from Trump, Shakespeare, a member's new hairstyle (or lack of) and what to eat for dinner. As usual, there were lots of laughs during the dinner, helped along by a glass of wine – or two!

Another good evening for the UK Connexion!
Maureen D

Singles Professional Dance
Sat, Nov 5, 2016
Dance Click on image for Slideshow
Eleven UKC members (6 ladies and 5 gentlemen) joined a large crowd from the Singles Professional Network to enjoy dancing to the non-stop music of DJ Davy Jones at the beautiful Italian social club Famee Furlane located at Islington Avenue and Steeles Avenue in Vaughan.

Many thanks to Lin and Ion for sponsoring this opportunity.
Fred M

Seven44 Live Big Band Dancing
Sat, Oct 29, 2016
Seven44 Click on image for Slideshow
Marilyn organized a fantastic late afternoon event that ten of us enjoyed. The York Jazz Ensemble had a good variety of music for their Halloween party to suit everyone's taste (big band, jazz, blues and lots of rocking). Lesley won a prize for her Disco costume. We all had lots of laughs, fun dancing and enjoyed good food.

Looking forward to Marilyn hosting another event soon!
Mary J

The Brogue Inn
Thu, Oct 27, 2016
Brogue Inn Click on image for Slideshow
Seventeen members arrived at the Brogue Inn to be greeted by our host, Mary. We enjoyed excellent food and company and were entertained by the Macintyre Band whose members chatted with us and played several of our requests. Some of those present appreciated seeing new members attending their first UK event. A successful evening.

Thanks Mary.
John R.

Gourmet Buffet/Mingling/South African Safari
Wed, Oct 26, 2016
African Safari Click on image for Slideshow
Nick hosted this excellent sold out event for approx. 37 UKC attendees. The venue was perfect with our own private room. After first mingling with other attendees, we had the delicious gourmet buffet and were very impressed with the variety of food, reasonable price and attentive service. Nick's narration and screen presentation of his trip to South Africa followed. He visited Johannesburg, Cape Town, the Cape of Good Hope and Robin Island which were all very scenic. It was nice to learn about their culture and lively music. Nick then went on a Safari trip to Amakhala Game Reserve to see the animals roaming free... absolutely beautiful. Nick's accommodation for the Safari was a luxury tent.

It didn't end there, next was a video tour of the International Space Station where we saw how astronauts work in space. Nick was also able to connect, via NASA to the weather station on Mars in real time and noted the time of day and weather conditions.

To top off the evening, Nick surprised us with a tasting of honey closely similar to the Fynbos honey that is only produced around the Cape of Good Hope, that we all enjoyed.

Thank you Nick for hosting this outstanding event as I know lots of time, effort and research went into it. Looking forward to your next presentation!
Mary J

Golf Tournament
Sun, Oct 23, 2016
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Who says it is too cold to golf? Not ten of us who jumped at the opportunity to maybe have a last go at hitting that wee white ball this year. The unbalanced ratio of 5 women to 4 men could have been made even by the wannabe player (see photo attached) but unfortunately he was disallowed from playing when he refused to pay the levy! Newcomers were introduced to Fred's sense of humour where he and John pretended to fix Fred's "dislocated" shoulder. This writer must admit that she was horrified when she heard the crunch of the fixing of this dislocation - yes, I fell for it, hook, line and sinker!

We all had a great time – the course is in great shape and the usual prizes were up for grabs. After an exhilarating 4 hours in the bright sunshine and time spent crunching those leaves as we looked for lost balls, we repaired to the club house for the prize distribution and then most of the party went onto the Wild Goose for the usual meet-up.
Seeta N

Old Stable Pub & Chelsea Restaurant
Sat, Oct 15, 2016
Old Stable Click on image for Slideshow
Mary organized a lovely evening on October 15th for thirteen participants (4 men and 9 ladies). We met up at the Old Stable Pub for a mix and mingle where we had a drink and some munchies and got acquainted with one another. Then we walked over to the Chelsea Restaurant where we had a fantastic dinner and enjoyed the dry sense of humour of the owner/host who made us most welcome. Everyone had a wonderful time and made some new friends. Pictures were taken to support the fun we had.

Looking forward to attending this event again.
Jan W

Dinner/Euchre at The Monk's Kettle
Wed, Oct 12, 2016
A great evening of cards was enjoyed by 11 players. A delicious meal was enjoyed before cards. Novices had a chance to brush up on the game rules of play. Being a card player in general I found it easy to follow the game. Then we joined in a lively game or two.

Thanks to Dorothy and Joan for organizing the event.
Pauline A

Thanksgiving Dinner at Harbour Club
Mon, Oct 10, 2016
It was a perfect late afternoon for a stroll along Harbourfront prior to arriving at Irene’s place. A large UKC group had already gathered in the condo restaurant when I arrived just before 6 pm on Thanksgiving Monday. With a wonderful view of Lake Ontario, we were led to elegantly laid tables and served our choice of drinks from the wait staff. The menu included soup or salad, stuffed roast turkey or lamb, vegetables and a choice of potato, followed by apple or pumpkin pie and coffee. And all for a very reasonable price. The atmosphere was pleasant, with lots of visiting and chatting. The resident chef came out to mingle with us after dinner.

Irene thanks all the UKC guests who attended and looks forward to her Oktoberfest party coming up soon – check your newsletter!
Christine Q

"15/15" Dinner Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, Oct 2, 2016
Lively conversation and good fellowship took place at the Elephant & Castle pub on October 2nd. Twelve folks ate and drank together: five men and seven women. The food was lovely and hot, while the service was excellent. The threat of thunderstorms outside made the comfortable pub all the more attractive to the animated UK Connexion!

Well done, Christine!
Anita H

New Orleans Jazz, Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Sep 24, 2016
Grossman's Click on image for Slideshow
The Happy Pals are a seven-piece jazz band based in Toronto, playing authentic old-time New Orleans party music. They’ve been featured every Saturday at Toronto’s legendary Grossman’s Tavern for over forty years. Those aren't this scribe’s words - they were stolen from the band's website. We are fortunate in having them here in Toronto along with a large number of other bands/groups of talented musicians playing various kinds of jazz.

On Saturday, September 24th, 13 of us enjoyed listening, and some of us dancing, to the Happy Pals' music at Grossman's Tavern where we were part of a full house. As usual, it finished with a "conga line" (in New Orleans jazz it’s called a "second line") around much of the bar, a line which included all band members with mobile instruments. The tune was "When the Saints Go Marching In" but so many saints marched in that the line eventually jammed to a halt.

Afterwards we found our way to the Red Lounge across the street for some good, reasonably priced food.
Ed T

Live Jazz & Blues, Port Credit
Wed, Sep 14, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On September 14th, a beautiful late summer evening, 13 of us, four men and nine ladies (plus our gracious host Mary J.) met at the Shore Grill and Grotto in the heart of Port Credit for dinner and great music. It was a warm evening and the garage-style front windows were rolled up and it was comfortable and not chilly at all. There was a good selection of food on the menu. The spicy pizza I had was hot and very tasty plus large enough to bring home more than half for another meal. Carson Freeman, a terrific sax and clarinet player, was the resident Wednesday night entertainment and his guest on stage this week was David Butler on keyboard. Both are extremely talented musicians and able to play just about any song you could request. David belted out songs from Billy Joel, Elton John, Michael Bublé and many other well-known entertainers plus some beautiful ballads, and the tiny dance floor was full. Carson's mastery of the saxophone was a delight to listen to, and one UKC member approached him about taking saxophone lessons – a lifelong dream of hers as it is her favourite instrument. Carson has agreed! What a thrill for our member.

I hope there will be an opportunity to return to the Shore Grill and Grotto as it was a most enjoyable evening.
Marilyn G

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun, Sep 11, 2016
Spaghetti Click on image for Slideshow
Fifteen people enjoyed mingling in the bar at the famous Old Spaghetti Factory followed by dining in a cosy private room with French doors that muffled the background noise in the main restaurant. It was a wonderful evening that, ironically, was almost cancelled two days before because only two people had called to reserve. In the end, we got the numbers because several members just dropped in without reserving. Dinner was delayed while management scrambled to find us seating for the unexpected people. The OLD SPAGHETTI FACTORY is a very popular restaurant where RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST.

A big thank you goes to our host Chris who handled the situation with aplomb and helped to find us that special room. It will be great if we can use it next time. Members are asked to reserve as per published instructions.
John P

Lunch at ViVetha Bistro & Stroll
Fri, Sep 9, 2016
ViVetha Bistro Click on image for Slideshow
There was no rain on Ed's parade, and the sun shone well for the walk after lunch. The ViVetha Bistro on Queen Street East has wonderfully artistic platings of good food, which 8 guests plus Ed enjoyed at lunch time on September 9th. Such a variety .... from exquisite breakfast egg choices, to lunch specials like crusted salmon, to sandwich plates with salad and fruits. After lunch, a quick trip to the nearby chocolate shop for a treat, and then a leisurely stroll along the Beach Boardwalk. Some made it as far as the Balmy Beach club, with nearby property now under reconstruction, and a couple of us continued in the heat to Woodbine and Queen before a TTC ride home.

We've made Ed promise to host this again!
Liz McG

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Mon Sep 5, 2016
Elephant & Castle Click on image for Slideshow
Thirteen of us, eight ladies and five men, mingled and dined at the Elephant & Castle on the evening of September 5th. That seemed a reasonable turnout for a Labour Day Monday. Of those thirteen, three were relatively new or returning members – always good to see. The E&C meeting is one of several monthly UKC events which encourage standing and mingling before sitting down at the dining table, thus making them ideal for new or nearly new members to be introduced to others. The E&C has been a monthly fixture in our programs for over ten years and the food and service have always been excellent. Long may mingling and dining at the E&C continue.

Thank you, Christine, for continuing to host this event despite all else you're involved with.
Ed T

Empire Sandy Cruise
Sat, Sep 4, 2016
Empire Sandy Click on image for Slideshow
On the morning of Sunday September 4th a group of UK Connexion members (10 Ladies and 4 gentlemen) met at Starbucks prior to setting forth, along with a large group of other would-be sailors, on the magnificent tallship "Empire Sandy", moored at Spadina and Queen's Quay, Toronto. A more perfect day could not have been ordered for this splendid short cruise: blue skies, brilliant sunshine sparkling on little "white ponies", gentle breezes, not a trace of humidity and Lake Ontario millpond calm. It was especially delicious when the engines were cut and we sailed only "under canvas". Passengers were entertained by Scottish Highland dancers and a group of musicians including a kilt-clad piper. One very young lady also gave a faultless display of "The Sailor's Hornpipe". A well-stocked galley provided drinks plus delicious Scotch pies and sausage rolls. Following the cruise 13 members of our group repaired to "The Fox and Fiddle" (a short walk away) for good food and conversation.

"Empire Sandy", it should be noted, has a very interesting history beginning in 1943 when she saw war service as a "Deep Sea Tug". She was eventually due to be salvaged but saved at the eleventh hour by the Founder of Nautical Adventures (Mr Norm Rogers), who converted her into the authentic 19th-century vessel we see today.

Grateful thanks are offered to UK Connexion's organizers; also to the Scottish Studies Foundation for this opportunity to participate in their "25th Annual Scottish Sailing Cruise". We eagerly anticipate the 26th!
Joan H

Seven44 Live Jazz
Sat, Aug 27, 2016
Seven 44 Click on image for Slideshow
On August 27 Ed organised a get-together of about seven lassies and three lads to appreciate the music of the York Jazz Ensemble. These goings-on were held at Seven44 on Mount Pleasant. The band leader Jake Fowell and his excellent seven-piece band played 3 sets of great music, from favourite ballads to rock and roll.

Dancing took place, food was consumed and a good evening was had by all.
Peter D

Golf & Lunch
Sun, Aug 14, 2016
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Good day for golf today! On Sunday August 14th, the temperatures had cooled a tiny bit and there was a nice breeze too, as 6 golfers teed off at the Braeben Academy course in Mississauga – four gents and two women. What a hilly challenge, but delightful, and 9 holes were just enough before we headed off for refreshments and a delicious lunch at Fionn MacCool's.

Thanks to Ian for hosting.
Liz McG

Luncheon Chelsea Restaurant, Port Credit
Sun, Aug 7, 2016
Chelsea Click on image for Slideshow
Wow! Mary J did us proud! Her lunch on Sunday August 7th in the heritage Chelsea Restaurant in Port Credit was a huge success. Seventeen of us, 5 men and 12 ladies, filled a private room. When Mary collected the levy she collected signatures. No, not for the privilege of paying her the $5 levy! But, to record that we agreed to share in the winnings of a Lotto ticket which she had purchased for the MAX on Friday August 12 with a jackpot of $60M (plus 41 additional prizes of $1M)!

Could the anticipation of winning be responsible for the loud animated conversions that preceded lunch? Judging from the noise level, people were having tremendous fun! But when the lunches arrived, calm descended as we savoured the, beautifully presented, succulent meals. After desserts we had another surprise; there was a draw for bottles of Santa Carolina Chilean wine. Beryl S and John P were the lucky winners. Apparently, Mary bought the prizes from the proceeds of a previous lottery win. Thanks for your generosity Mary! (Note to future hosts: you are not expected to do likewise.)

After lunch, we strolled a few yards to relax and listen to a group playing at the LIGHTHOUSE called BLUSH with a very talented lady singer. It was the perfect way to end a wonderful event. Here’s hoping you’ll be hosting more Mary.
John P

Dinner/Euchre at the Monk's Kettle
Wed, Aug 3, 2016
Monks Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
A great time was had by seasoned card sharks along with novices after a tasty dinner at The Monk's Kettle, a delightful neighbourhood pub-resto in the Royal York/Bloor area. A vast array of choices of craft beers along with a lovely local cider helped the dozen ‎players, half of whom learned the rules from the ever-patient team of Joan and Dorothy, while the experienced group matched wits. This is a good activity for meeting other members and breaking the week up.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy for utilizing their teaching skills and of course organizing and running this regular monthly activity.
Jackie B

Simcoe Day Mingling/Indian Buffet
Mon Aug 1, 2016
Indian Buffet Click on image for Slideshow
On the Simcoe Day Holiday Monday a total of 10 people arrived at the Pump House Grille between 11.30 and noon and we were greeted warmly by our host John Pettitt. There was time for a drink or two of a sociable nature and a chance to meet and talk to each other before we all headed out to the restaurant "Indian Cuisine on the Lake" for our lunch. This is only a block away so just a short walk.

This is a small and very friendly restaurant with a good selection of drinks including an incredible mango juice cocktail one of our ladies loved. Lunch was served on large silver platters and included butter chicken, beef curry, a spicy eggplant stew, chick peas, rice, salad and even a small samosa. The food was delicious and refills were offered if anyone had room. We then had a choice of rice pudding or mango ice cream for dessert. All but one of us went for the amazing ice cream, a perfect and light ending to our meal. It was a really good lunch at a reasonable price.

After all that food a walk was definitely in order, and in beautiful Port Credit there is a promenade along the Credit River to where the River meets Lake Ontario. It is not a long way to the end and it felt good to walk and let our lunch settle. Being a hot summer day there were a lot of other people out enjoying being by the water and watching a steady stream of boats coming and going – but still room on benches if anyone who wanted to sit for a while. Many thanks to John for arranging this most enjoyable afternoon for us.
Marilyn G

Lakeside Moonlit Garden Party
Sat, Jul 16, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
John Pettitt once again generously shared his wonderful garden with UKC members for our 20th, and probably last, Annual Lakeside Moonlit Garden Party. The weather was perfect, the full moon shimmered across Lake Ontario and the music transported us back decades to the amazing music that we grew up with.
From the moment of arrival 60's music was playing quietly as some of us sat in the sun on the lower deck, others lounged in comfortable chairs on the upper level soaking up the view of the lake and terrace below while Food Princesses circulated with delicious hors d'oeuvres. As the sun set the BBQs were sizzling with our grilled meats soon to be joined by two green salads, sumptuous potato salad and rolls. Later on we had dessert and coffee. Meanwhile the music was continuously so good that the lower deck was alive with dancers. Ian Hunt, our new DJ, managed to keep us dancing on the deck nonstop beside the roaring campfire; such a heavenly setting!
Sadly, this will probably be the last time John will hold this signature event: the increasing costs of the marquee in case of rain and upgrading the DJ have necessitated a minimum number of over 100 attendees to break-even. Unfortunately, only 92 of our 607 UKC members participated this year. Volunteers have some idea of the amount of work John puts into this. The hardest job these days is trying to marshal sufficient guests.
So here's a huge THANK YOU to John for hosting this unique and special event for 20 years from everyone who has attended in the past two decades.
Ann G
Golf Tournament
Sun, Jul 10, 2016
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Golfing is great! what a wonderful day full of sun with just enough wind to blow cool now and then. Joan and Dorothy once again hosted 12 golfers at the Scarlett Woods course - 4 men and 8 women. We appreciate that two of the women were newcomers to the golf scene, who tackled 18 holes after just a few lessons. They were exhausted, but they did promise to return again as they enjoyed it. The closest to the pin on the 5th hole prize was won by Joan, and the longest drive on the 14th by Maureen. It's nice to see different winners each time we play. After golf, we had a cold one and reminisced about Cliff and his war experiences, then headed over to thevWild Goose for an early dinner out on the patio, joined by another four, including a new member. Fred gave us a lengthy demonstration of a magic trick and maybe he'll repeat it again, so I won't spoil the fun by telling you about it.

Thanks Joan and Dorothy for arranging the date!
Liz Mc

Grand River Cruise
Sat, Jul 9, 2016
Grand River Click on image for Slideshow
Five UKC members – John, Eva, Seeta, Fred, and Tony – joined the Single Horizons group on the bus to the Grand River Cruises located 7 km west of Caledonia. We boarded the Grand River Belle for a three-hour cruise. During the Cruise, we enjoyed a home-style meal prepared in-house. We arrived back at the dock at 4:00 p.m. On the way home we stopped for 45 minutes at the unique Windmill Country Market in the village of Mount Pleasant where we enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere the Market is known for and browsed through the many fascinating items for sale. We arrived back at the MOT Carpool Lot at 7:00 p.m.

The UKC involvement was very capably organized by John.
Fred M.

Dinner and Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, July 3, 2016
E & C Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday last - a beautiful summer evening - quite a good crowd congregated at the E & C for mingling, drinks and dinner. The crowd included five new members: Margarita, Donna, Suzanne, Bob and Chris - all pictured here. They heard about the UKConnexion through Forever Young and British Canadian Newspaper. As usual, the service at the pub was excellent and the conversation among members was stimulating! (Many opinions about Brexit were expressed!!)

So, come out and join us at our next E & C gathering on Sunday, August 7.
Christine Q

50’s/60’s Dance, Port Credit
Sat, Jul 2, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
Nine UKC members (5 ladies, 4 gentlemen) joined the regular Legion crowd to dance or just listen to the great music of Little Peter and the Elegants, an 8-piece 50s/60s band at the Royal Canadian Legion, 35 Front St North, Port Credit.

The music started at 8.00 p.m. and continued to midnight. The UKC involvement was capably organized by Ed.
Fred M

Golf Tournament at Scarlett Woods Golf Club
Sun, Jun 26, 2016
On a very hot humid day seven golfers arrived at Scarlett Woods for the midday tee off. Luckily for us there was always a nice breeze as we made our way through the course. John won both the longest drive and the closest to the pin contests. He graciously declined the prizes. After refreshments in the clubhouse at Scarlett Woods, nine people met for dinner and conversation at the Wild Goose where we enjoyed dinner on the patio.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy for organizing a great event.
Margaret

Penthouse Pot-Luck Patio Party
Sat, Jun 4, 2016
Penthouse Party Click on image for Slideshow
The now 'annual' Penthouse Party was once again an outstanding event! Overseen by our so well-mannered host, Bruce B, each of the approximately 50 guests were guided first through an elegant dining room, on into a welcoming area where dancing would take place, and then to an outdoor patio with a stunning 33rd floor view of the sparkling lake with sailboats calmly moving through the water. The weather was perfect!

Animated conversations took place in all three areas prior to dinner and continued when everyone moved to the dining room, where potluck contributions were thoroughly enjoyed. Miraculously, although contribution instructions were pretty general prior to the event, there was a perfectly balanced bounty of pre-dinner snacks, meat dishes, pastas, salads and desserts.

To ensure the evening progressed smoothly, UKC members Gabriele, Angela and Joan worked efficiently in the background, managing the tickets at the door and arranging dishes and putting out food for appreciative members.

Dancing followed dinner, enjoyed by happy partygoers, and continued until the last song was played by DJ Ian Hunt at 11:00 pm. It will seem like a long wait until next year’s party (a next-year’s party being hopefully a foregone conclusion, on my part).
Anne Marie

Old Stable Pub & Chelsea Restaurant
Fri, June 3, 2016
A fine evening was had by one and all on June 3, starting at the Old Stable Pub on the Lakeshore. Blink and you miss it, something you will not want to do as it has an inviting atmosphere, the staff go out of their way to accommodate you, and the decor is a talking point. Then we went on to the nearby Chelsea Restaurant which is converted from a period house.

The owner/and host is a delight and he has a very dry sense of humour when taking your order.
Jim M

Golf Tournament
Sun, May 29, 2016
Golf Tournament Click on image for Slideshow
Sunday May 29 was a very warm day – just a bit too humid for comfortable golfing on the second UKC Golf Tournament of the season. There were relatively few people out on the course at Scarlett Woods. Possibly many golfers stayed at home in air conditioning rather than venturing out under the hot sun. However this did not dissuade twelve keen UKC members (7 ladies, 5 gentlemen) from enjoying 18 holes of golf without the pressure of having to wait for the group ahead of us, or having to hurry up to stay ahead of the group behind us.

Many thanks to the longtime hosts of this event, Joan and Dorothy, who did their usual stellar job of organizing this event. Liz won the prize for the Longest Drive and John for Closest-to-the-Pin. Jo-Ann did incredibly well by getting a birdie when her first shot on that hole had landed in a sand trap. Then from the sand trap, her ball went directly into the hole.

After refreshments and the presentation of the prizes in the Clubhouse at Scarlett Woods, seven golfers and one guest went to the Wild Goose Bar & Grill to enjoy drinks, dinner, and lively conversation – inside the facility where it was cooler rather than outside on the patio.
Fred

Victoria Day Mingling / Indian Lunch Buffet
Mon, May 23, 2016
Victoria Day Click on image for Slideshow
 
 
Live Jazz & Blues
Wed, May 18, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On May 18, Mary hosted a live jazz/blues event at the Shore Grill and Grotto. The music was varied and most enjoyable, with Carson Freeman playing sax, clarinet and flute, Richard Whiteman playing bass, and Fraser Melvin on guitar and providing vocals. The trio took song requests, and one favourite for many was “Georgia on My Mind”. The menu offered a variety of dishes, with a long varied list of appetizers as well as a selection of pizza, fajitas, pasta, meat and seafood dishes. Everyone enjoyed the food, with something for everyone’s taste, and plenty of it. Louise, our server, was very attentive and took very good care of us all evening. This establishment is in the heart of Port Credit, and easy to get to. The large front window of the restaurant, resembling a garage door but made of glass, was completely open during the first part of the evening. It not only provided a pleasant temperature inside, but people on the front patio, as well as those passing by, could enjoy the music as well. This is an event I would certainly attend again. I met some very nice and interesting people. What more could one ask for, good company, good food and good music.

A big thank-you to Mary for hosting this event.
Ann S

C'Est What Microbrewery - Live Jazz
Sat, May 7, 2016
C'Est What Click on image for Slideshow
This was my first time at C'est What Microbrewery tucked away with a very small door and is downstairs so easy to miss. The restaurant is split into several rooms. The room where the band was playing is very cozy and intimate and seats 100 people. The Hot Five Jazzmakers were very entertaining and professional. They are very dedicated musicians as they survive on donations alone. There is a large selection of Canadian beers (38 plus 32 rotating selections). All food is made from scratch, reasonably priced and good portions. Our only server did a great job considering she had to solely serve the whole section and bar area. Eight UKC members attended this event (4 ladies and 4 gentlemen). It was nice meeting four members I had not met before and we all had a nice time.

Thank you so much Ian for hosting this wonderful event!
Mary M

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Sat, May 1, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
Seven44 - Live Jazz
Sat, Apr 30, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On the afternoon of Saturday April 30, nine UK Connexion members gathered at the venerable Seven44 restaurant and lounge on Mt. Pleasant Rd. for some libations, music and food. The entertainment was provided by The York Jazz Ensemble, an excellent musical group headed by a vocalist with a repertoire ranging from old standards to upbeat modern selections. Dancing was available and the food consisted of good pub fare.

A pleasant way to while away a Saturday afternoon.
Martin B

Golf Tournament
Sun, Apr 24, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
The Golf Tournament, organized by our host Joan, took place at the Scarlett Woods Golf Course on a Saturday morning. Eleven people participated in the golf, organized in two groups of four and one of three. While the forecast was iffy, it turned out to be a beautiful day, a bit chilly but sunny and perfect for golf. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Fred Motyl achieved the longest drive on the 14th hole while Pauline Amsler took the honours for closest to the pin on the 16th hole. Afterwards we were joined by other members for dinner at the Wild Goose.

Thank you, Joan, for a great event!
Tony A

New Orleans Jazz, Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Apr 23, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On April 23 a group of us joined Ed for a most enjoyable evening of music fun and fellowship.

Starting at 4:30 the band plays a selection of jazz and blues that is exceptional. A very relaxed atmosphere, pleasant drink service and the chance to dance if you wish fills the time till the band ends at around 7.

Most of us then accompanied our congenial host Ed over the road to dine at the Red Room pub. We partook of good reasonably priced food and enjoyed much conversation in the quieter surroundings.
Beryl H.

Pizza Lunch On Deck Beside Lake Ontario
Fri, Apr 22, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On Friday, April 22, John was kind enough to hold an afternoon Lakeside Pizza Party on his deck overlooking Lake Ontario. The weather forecast was for rain and Plan B was to postpone until Saturday. However the weather gods were kind and, after morning showers, the sun was starting to shine as we arrived. It was so good to finally be sitting outside by the water and get some sun on our faces.

About 20 people attended this event and our host was well organized with seating set up around a bonfire which helped keep us warm when the sun went in. We were able to move around and mix with one another which was good. Being a fairly new member I arrived knowing only a few people and very much enjoyed speaking with members I had not met before. Cindy kindly took care of asking each guest for their preferences in pizza toppings and ordering in our lunch. The pizzas were excellent washed down with coffee or whatever guests decided to bring to drink. We had two additional house members join our party after John made sure all his guests present were agreeable to having Audrone's two rather large and beautiful dogs enjoy the sun and company too.

Luckily we had finished eating when the sky suddenly got very dark and heavy rain began to fall. This was precisely at 2:00 pm as predicted by the Toronto weather forecasters. Too bad they chose today to be so accurate, and sadly the rain extinguished our lovely bonfire. A few folk left and the rest of us took cover hoping the rain would pass quickly, which it did after about fifteen minutes, and the sun promptly returned. This event was a lot of fun for us all and I thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Many thanks to our host John.
Marilyn G.

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Apr 17, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun, Apr 10, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
The forecast of snow, ice pellets, and freezing rain didn’t deter 15 members from making a regular visit to Toronto’s Old Spaghetti Factory, a large restaurant nicely divided into small areas and adorned with antiques, artifacts, stained glass windows and just about everything else. Following our enjoyable custom of first meeting and mingling in the bar, our group, 8 ladies and 7 men, were led to our reserved table. The service was excellent, as always, and so were the spaghetti or similar dishes that most ordered. My ribs and fries were also excellent. Ribs and fries in a spaghetti restaurant? I know… but sometimes that's me…

Thanks to Chris for hosting this event.
Ed T

Mid-Week Fun at the Bedford Academy
Wed, Mar. 30, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun, Mar 27, 2016
Old Spaghetti Factory Click on image for Slideshow
The beautiful weather brought out 12 UK Connexion members to this always favourite restaurant. Our heated discussions about the issues of the day, including U.S. politics, seem to go very well with the delicious savoury and spicy Italian food.

Even our waitress, whose service was great, informed us, good-naturedly, that even though gratuity was included, we could give her a little extra if we felt so inclined.

It was a great evening, good to see everyone, especially Clara. Lots of fun. Chris is always the perfect host, very hospitable. Thank you, Chris.
Roslyn

New Orleans Jazz at Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Mar 12, 2016
It was my first time at Grossman's and what a surprise! From the outside one would never guess at the great atmosphere that pervades as you enter. Our group led by Ian and attended by nine women and one male (besides Ian) all seemed to enjoy themselves. The band, The Happy Pals, played so well a mixture of New Orleans blues/jazz and Dixieland and did a fabulous version of Blue Moon of Kentucky mixing country, blues and New Orleans jazz, along with great swing-dance couples on the dance-floor. The bar service was excellent (jocular banter included!) and if you want to experience maybe one of the last places in TO that gives a feeling of the 60's and before, then you should visit Grossman's.

Thanks to Ian for hosting. Grossman's will be led by Ed for the months of April, May and June.

Ian will host C'est What Microbrewery/Live Jazz on some Saturday afternoons in the spring - check the spring newsletter which will be available to you later this month.
Christine Q.

Dancing To Joe
Fri, Mar 11, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to our wonderful host, Ed, for organizing this event at the Mississauga Hensall Circle Legion the evening of March 11th for dancing to Joe Lucchetta.

The hall was packed and four UK Connexion members had a fantastic time meeting other groups, enjoying the food, raffles and wonderful dancing to Joe.

WOW this was a great evening!
Mary M.

Brunch At Harbour Club
Sun, Feb 28, 2016
On February 28th, at my upscale Condo that gives everyone the impression that I live in a ritzy hotel, I hosted my monthly Sunday Brunch Buffet. The Condo is unique because it could be the only one with a restaurant within, 'Harbour Club at York Quay'. With its elegant décor of ruby coloured table cloths, matching napkins, walls covered with artistic paintings of many famous cities around the world, and comfortable padded chairs, the price is right!

Via e-mail or a phone call, 20 UKC members confirmed to be counted in, and everyone showed up. I just warned them "to come hungry". Some members hurry for a seat near the window with a view of the lake, others like to save steps by sitting closer to the buffet tables, whereas some arrive and need their shot of caffeine before anything else. Still many are surprised and happy that at noon they could have a glass of wine from the bar to complement their food fare. The Brunch Buffet, which provides something to everyone's taste, consists of a Cold Table and a Hot Table, followed by a sinfully delicious visit to the Sweet Indulgence Table for the Crème Caramel, Apple Strudel, Chocolate Mousse and an assortment of fruit.

Our 20 members took over the whole back seating of the restaurant, giving us lots of elbow room to be comfortable with staff catering to our every need. Many members played musical chairs as they mingled about the dining room. Several who were not in a hurry to rush home took advantage of the cozy Lounge to finish conversations. When the waiter came in to announce that the Buffet was closing at 4 pm, one member said, "Do I have enough time to grab myself a roast beef sandwich". He certainly did!

It just doesn't get any better than this awesome sunny Sunday - nobody went home hungry!
Eileen P.

Valentine's Wine & Cheese Extravaganza
Sat, Feb 20, 2016
On Saturday, February 20th, 16 UKC members enjoyed a very pleasant afternoon at the charming studio-home of Audrone and her two magnificent Black Russian Terriers. The sun shone – the snow having melted away overnight – and the gracious hostess had prepared a delightful buffet of unusual treats, the presentation of which reflected her artistry. Good conversation in a pleasantly relaxed atmosphere added to the group's enjoyment. And a brisk walk by the lakeshore rounded off what was in all a most delightful afternoon.

Many thanks, Audrone, for organizing this memorable occasion!
Joan H.

Supper and "Love" Trivia Quiz!
Sat, Feb 13, 2016
On the most frigid day of the season, fourteen of us braved the bitterly cold temperatures to venture out to Christine’s, where we had a most enjoyable evening. We were treated to her famous chili, her tasty chicken curry and the most divine chocolate cake filled with orange butter-cream: delicious!

To much laughter and discussion we all participated in the Valentine’s/Shakespeare/Beatles quiz Christine had cleverly put together – on pink paper no less! Most of us learned something from the answers, whether it was "#6: how many verse lines are there in a sonnet, 10, 14 or 20?" or "#1: who was Shakespeare married to, Anne Hathaway, Anne of Cleves or Anne Murray?" or "#16: who was not on the cover of Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band: Tony Curtis, Elvis Presley or Bob Dylan?"!

At the end of the evening for our intellectual efforts we were all awarded with Christine’s yummy individually-wrapped home-made ginger snaps and lemon shortbread from her own baking company’s recipe menu, great treats to enjoy at home. Many thanks to Christine for all of the time, energy and skill that went in to this fun evening!

And for those wondering what the answers are:
#6 = 14; #1 = Anne Hathaway; #16 = Elvis Presley.
Jackie

Old Stable Pub & Chelsea Restaurant
Fri, Feb 5, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
Seventeen UK members enjoyed an outstanding evening at our host, Mary's, first event. We began our evening mingling at the Old Stable Pub. When we arrived Mary had each of us sign our names to a photographed copy of a lottery ticket with prize of over $60 million that she had purchased for the group. What a delightful surprise. The pub was very quaint, cozy, and decorated in "rustic stable" A couple of the seats were actual saddles! It was quite a laugh and we had fun horsing around.

Eventually we headed to the Chelsea which was just a stone's throw away on the other side of Lakeshore. Again, we were very impressed with the cozy ambiance of the restaurant. Glenda, Mary's sister, advised that the restaurant is a heritage home. We had our own private room and we were comfortably seated at two long tables. Our meals were delicious. Many enjoyed the roast lamb dinner. Others were very satisfied with the orange roughy with dill lemon sauce and some enjoyed the steak and kidney pie entrees. A chicken entrée was also offered. The glasses of wine were quite a good size and we were also given extra baskets of delicious twelve-grain bread. A husband and wife team own this long-established restaurant and their daughter was our server. They were very attentive. It couldn't have been more pleasant.

As we were leaving, Mary gave everyone a "loot bag." What a treat! We each received a small envelope decorated in a Chinese motif. Inside was a coin from the Mandarin to honour the Year of the Monkey as well as a little chocolate heart. What a special touch!

Thank you Mary for hosting such an unforgettable evening. We will all be looking forward to your next event!
Candace W.

Winter Hike at Palgrave
Sun, Jan 31, 2016
Winter Hike Click on image for Slideshow
On January 31 I carpooled with John and Chris to Bolton where we met up with our hosts Arnold and Mary and three other members to hike the Palgrave Conservation Area. Despite the mild day, there was wet ice covering the trails so we opted to do a flatter, easier trail. Arnold and Mary had thoughtfully brought extra pairs of ice cleats so most of us had these helpful traction aids on our hiking boots. The sun was out, nature was her beautiful self and two hours went by most enjoyably in companionable conversation and a lunch break in a clearing in the woods. We went to the Black Bull Pub in Bolton afterwards for drinks and dinner. Wonderful, home-style pub favourites like Guinness Pie and Fish and Chips were prepared well and eaten with gusto. The food is good, the ale is great and you just have to take the crusty owner in stride (Crabby Joe doesn't compare to this proprietor!).

Many thanks to the long-time members of UK Connexion for making this new member feel so welcome!
Susie

C'est What Microbrewery Live Jazz
Sat, Jan 30, 2016
I had the great pleasure of attending my first two UK Connexion events this weekend. On Saturday, January 30th, I took a friend to C'est What bar and restaurant located in a historic stretch of old buildings on Front Street in Toronto. We were a small but convivial group of five, hosted by Ian, in a packed room of other drinkers and diners, all here to listen to The Hot Five Jazzmakers, who were really a group of seven talented jazz musicians. We were regaled for three sets of jazz standards and a good time was had by all. The Jazzmakers celebrated 27 years of playing together and they played banjo, washboard, bass saxophone, as well as the more usual drums, trumpet, clarinet, and keyboards.

I didn't eat but saw wonderful platters of food go by so now I know where to go for dinner and music downtown!
Susie

Alice in Wonderland at the Tranzac
Fri, Jan 29, 2016
Tranzac Club
Have you ever wished you could recover some good old times spent in the past? Well, our visit to the Alice in Wonderland pantomime at the TRANZAC CLUB was one of those occasions. The NAG’s (Nomads Acting Group) cast, costumes, presentation and acting were perfect. We laughed for well over two hours. Interestingly, the UKC turnout had twice as many men than women for a change. Ladies, where were you?

After the show the men then went to Kilgour’s, a nearby sports bar, for eats and drinks and a good tongue wag. A great time was had by all.
Michael W.

Kitchen on Sixth
Fri, Jan 15, 2016
On Friday January 15th, long time member Beryl F introduced us to a cosy British restaurant near Lakeshore and Islington called KITCHEN ON SIXTH. The owner/manager, Jenny, went out of her way to accommodate us. We feasted on her very tasty fish and chips and Shepherd’s pie plus starters and desserts. Two newcomers to UKC events, Kay and Terry, were warmly welcomed. We hope to see them again - next time as members. (Hint to all: membership in UKC is FREE.) An added bonus to the evening: Remember Branston Pickles? Well, you can buy jars here, plus Heinz baked beans imported from the UK. Yes, they really do taste better, even better than the cans marked “British Style” available in supermarkets in Canada.
John P.
The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun, Jan 10, 2016
On Sunday the 10th of January a good crowd gathered at the bar of the Old Spaghetti Factory on Front Street in downtown Toronto. The night was especially poignant for us all in sharing with Clara fond memories of nights there run by she and Kevin who passed away last month. We then adjourned to the dining room and partook of delightful meals from the Italian Style Menu. Much conversation and laughter enhanced our dining with good service.

Our thanks to Chris for his first hosting of the event.
Beryl H.

Last night of the Proms: A Diamond Jubilee
Tue, Jun. 19, 2012
A Star is Born
A noisy cheerful bunch of UKC members enjoyed dinner at the Elephant and Castle prior to a concert at the Roy Thompson Hall. Armed with flags, we were eager to participate in the "Last night of the Proms." Once the Toronto Mendelssohn choir and members of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra were seated, we welcomed the conductor, Bramwell Tovey on stage. He entertained us with his "tongue in cheek" humour throughout the evening.

Later on, we were to laugh out loud when he introduced "her majesty" in honour of the Diamond Jubilee. Her wit and dry humour was well received. Both orchestra and choir were outstanding and our spirits soared when we enjoyed music such as Handel's "Zadok the Priest." Soprano, Laura Whalen and baritone, James Westman sang superbly. James was quite the heartthrob and wooed many a lady in the audience. My personal favourite was Alison Balsom, trumpeter, especially when she played Casta Diva variations from "Norma" by Bellini. The clarity and tone of her music tugged at the heart strings. Acclaimed as the best dressed lady of the evening and invited to stand before the entire audience was our very own Kim. She was attired in a beautifully fitted red suit with matching brimmed hat decorated with union jacks. Well done Kim.

We left the concert hall in high spirits and replete with good music which, as we all know, is both wonderful and nourishing food for the soul.
Sonia K.